COVID-19 Updates

About the MTAM 

The Massage Therapy Association of Manitoba (MTAM) is a not-for-profit association of almost 1200 professional massage therapists, associate clinics, students and retired practitioners throughout Manitoba.

Established in 1973, we have been serving the profession for over 45 years -- supporting our members and helping to build massage therapy as a respected part of healthcare in the province. We look forward to celebrating our 50th Anniversary in 2023!

The MTAM is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors elected by the members of the Association at annual meetings. All Directors are Registered Massage Therapists and each serve two-year terms. Our affairs are also guided by seven enthusiastic volunteer committees who manage and run projects, and discuss and respond to issues within the profession.

Our volunteer led Board and committees are supported by a full-time professional office staff team who carry out their initiatives and projects to support our members.

We take pride in promoting the benefits of massage therapy for pain management, injury recovery, preventative health, stress reduction, and overall wellness. We ensure Manitobans have access to highly-qualified massage therapists through our database of members: MTAM Registered Massage Therapists

We support our members through ongoing promotion of massage therapy, providing resources and information to members and the public, creating professional development and networking opportunities, negotiating group discounts and benefits, facilitating mentoring and peer support between members, and working with health centres, clinics, spas and employers to ensure RMT's are treated fairly and work relationships are positive and strong.


Our Vision

A healthy Manitoba where all massage therapists are valued for their caring, dedication, skill, and competency.

Our Mission

Through our innovative member development programs, responsive member services, and well-rounded advocacy and communication efforts, we instill and uphold the value of our massage therapists in supporting a healthy Manitoba.

Our Purpose

  1. Serve our members with care and compassion;
  2. Represent members before government and regulatory bodies concerned with massage therapy;
  3. Protect the public by ensuring safe, competent and ethical massage practice;
  4. Foster and encourage professional growth among members;
  5. Ensure high standards of education for students of massage therapy; and
  6. Promote the art, philosophy and science of massage therapy.

An important note: The massage therapy profession is not yet Manitoba regulated in Manitoba

Massage Therapy has been approved to become a regulated health profession. MTAM is currently leading the work with the Government of Manitoba to finalize legislation. Learn more about our Road to Regulation

It is a challenging environment to balance being a member-based association and protect the public.  On one side, we are an Association who advocates for our members and builds the profession. On the other side, we act in a limited capacity as a regulator, to help provide the public an avenue for protection.

Further complicating this in Manitoba is that there are other organizations representing smaller numbers of practitioners doing massage. These organizations may have different qualifying criteria, standards, and expectations of their members (e.g. allow students and/or other unqualified people to work as full members, some do not check criminal records, some have no system to monitor continuing competency or CPR training, etc.). 

Our Members are Fully Qualified

All MTAM members are bound by a code of ethics and follow nationally-accepted standards of practice. Our Association and its members believe in ongoing education to maintain the highest standards of practice and competency.

You can be assured that the MTAM members are fully-qualified, are up-to-date on all of their continuing competency, CPR training and have submitted criminal record checks with a vulnerable sector search.

Find Out More

Meet our Board of Directors and Staff Members